Home > Uncategorized > The End?

The End?

In the past 10 days, I have been asked a similar question a couple of different times, “Why don’t you preach or teach on the end times?”  Here’s my answer:

There are sincere, good-willed, Bible believing, Jesus loving Christians who hold wildly divergent views on the end times…

Pre-mils, post-mils, a-mils…

Pre-tribs, mid-tribs, post tribs…

Preterists, full and partial, historists and futurists…

Dispensationalists and Covenantalists…

Darby-ists, Scofield-ians, Lindsey-nistas, Van Impe-ites, etc., etc.

And if none of that rings a bell with you – count yourself very fortunate…

I’ve even known people who said they held the same position who disagreed with each other on the finer points of the details of dozens, even hundreds of things in “their” end times view.

The moment I say, “This is my position” I will have basically written off and marginalized some number of my brothers and sisters in Christ. Suddenly, they think, “Pastor thinks I’m wrong…” and unity and fellowship is threatened. And strangely enough, I would very likely find myself in disagreement with people who claim to hold the same view as I do!

Because I choose to focus on the things that unite us rather than the things that divide us, my appeal to all believers is this: We all agree that “Jesus Christ will come in glory to judge the living and the dead, and his kingdom will have no end.’ We further believe to one degree or another that we are living in the end times right now. Therefore, let us focus on living prepared lives, so that whenever he returns, we’ll be ready.

That is much more important than which eschatology is correct.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Michelle Reed
    January 19, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    Amen…not worth “fighting” about…which is always what seems to happen. In the end, what happens, happens, and I will be with Jesus!!

  2. auctioneer greg
    January 20, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    The more I hang around you, the more I love your way of thinking. I have heard sermons in the past 40 years from nearly all the positions you stated & I sure enjoy hearing the gospel preached best. Keep doin’ what you’re doin’!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

