Home > freedom, Uncategorized > I Love Independence Day!

I Love Independence Day!

I love the 4th of July – most Americans do – and here’s 7 reasons why, in no particular order:

1. I love freedom. Jesus died to make us free – It was for freedom that Christ set us free… – If the Son makes you free, you will be free indeed.  Freedom was God’s idea before it was any man’s – and we can only truly be free, not by law or citizenship, but in Christ.

2. I love living in a country where we truly have freedom!  Freedom to worship, to assemble, to travel wherever we can afford to go, to live where we want, work wherever we can get hired, to become what we want, limited only by our skill, experiences, and determination… In our country we lose sight of the fact that most of the rest of the world does not come close to enjoying the level of freedom we do.

3. I love the ideals of the nation’s founders – regardless of whether we live up to them or not.  It is the strength of the principles our nation was founded on that has allowed us to survive when other nations and governments have crumbled. No, our execution of those principles has not been perfect – that is why, to paraphrase Lincoln,  it is for us the living to be dedicated to the unfinished work which those who have come before have thus far so nobly advanced.

4. I love the right of dissent.  My oldest son told me that a couple of his Facebook friends said they didn’t like or appreciate Independence Day.  I love that we live in a country where people are free to say what they think or belive – even when it’s stupid like that!

5. I love the food! The burgers, the bar-b-que, the fried chicken, the watermelon, the ice cream… To quote Jim Gaffigan,  “I usually don’t have a burger, a brat, and a steak but… it is 4th of July.  And I need the energy if I’m gonna start blowin crap up.  It’s what the founding fathers would want.”

6. I love the fireworks! And I’m not talking about the pretty, color and music coordinated fireworks displays going on all over the place – I love those too, but I’m thinking back to when I was a 9 year old kid in Alabama running around with a grocery bag full of Black Cat firecrackers and bottle rockets and my dad’s Zippo. It is by the grace of God that we never burned down an occupied dwelling…

7. I love our church’s outreach to our community! Every 4th of July we fire up the grills or the smokers, we set up the bounce house and the water slide, we make sno-cones and slice watermelon, and we crank up the live music – then we invite everyone in our community to join us. And every year, more and more do – over 300 last year!  This event kicks off our summer “busy season” (vacation bible school, our fair booth, etc) and it is far and away my favorite thing our church does. Thanks to Chris Ebert and his team for putting it together and pulling it off!

What about you? Why do you love the 4th of July?

  1. Greg Michael
    July 4, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    Ditto!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

