Home > grace > Unbalanced On Purpose

Unbalanced On Purpose

Thank you Tully Tchividjian – you gave me a great line I will use the rest of my days: Apparently the preaching of radical grace produces serial killers…

At least that’s what I’ve been told repeatedly the last few years as I have more and more embraced the Grace Message – “Oh no, you can’t teach grace, people will abuse it…”  “You have to be careful with grace, people will get the wrong idea…” “Be sure to balance grace with ‘truth'” (I always want to ask, “Umm, do you mean grace isn’t true?”) Or my personal favorite: “Teaching grace gives people a license to sin…” (Seems to me people are doing a pretty good job “SWL” – sinning without a license!)

The glorious, liberating truth is that grace does not produce sin and lasciviousness in people’s lives – it produces the freedom for which Christ has set us free.  The only genuine response we can have to the Gospel of Grace is humility and a desire to truly be what God has made us.

Grace prompts joyful obedience – and the assurance that imperfect obedience is not a deal-breaker.  Jesus spoke of his commands being followed – not because his followers were afraid of punishment, but because they loved him… Only grace can prompt that love response in us.

Paul taught grace in such a way that it confounded people – it made them ask ridiculous questions like, “Are you saying we should sin more to get more grace?”  I want to be guilty of the same thing – teaching the Gospel of grace so strongly that people question my Christianity and look at each other panicked and scared, asking, “Did he really just say that?”

I want to preach grace with no moderation, no “balance”, no “on the other hand.” Just pure undiluted amazing grace splashing and spilling all over everything and everyone!

By God’s grace I will be guilty of taking grace too far – and never guilty of not taking it far enough.

Categories: grace Tags:
  1. Roger Hunt
    July 1, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    Good stuff OD!!

    • fiercegrace
      July 1, 2011 at 7:46 pm

      Thanks Sis!

  2. July 1, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    As a fellow recovering “legalist”, I continue to let your phrase: “Grace prompts joyful obedience – and the assurance that imperfect obedience is not a deal-breaker”, to wash over me daily. How did I miss this for so many years? I’m still learning…God Bless you!

    • fiercegrace
      July 1, 2011 at 7:47 pm

      Thanks Greg – man, it’s a privilege to be on this journey with you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

