Home > Uncategorized > Guest Post: Justin Finton

Guest Post: Justin Finton

[I don’t often feature guest bloggers here, but Justin’s aunt is our Children’s ministry Director, and she passed this along to me.  I was impressed by the humility and transparency Justin expresses here. His open and honest searching should characterize every follower of Christ, though we might end up in very different places.  Justin is a freshman at North Central University in Minneapolis, MN]

Bla, Bla, Bla, God. Confession

I don’t know how old the earth is.                                                                                                    I don’t trust the Christian or Secular dates that have been laid out in regards to the existence of the earth, or even the universe.                                                                             But I trust that it was made by God.

I’m not willing to take a stand on the topic of evolution.                                                               I believe that God is capable of doing whatever he wants, and if he wants animals to evolve, then they will.                                                                                                                    But God is still sovereign.

I lose focus on God easily.                                                                                                                  Sometimes I’ll be really excited, and connected with him and other times I forget about God and do my own thing.                                                                                                            But I always come back.

I hate it when people aren’t genuine.                                                                                 Whether it’s in a conversation, or in worship or public speaking.                                                 I feel cheated of what they would have to say.

I disagree with the standard Christian view of Homosexual Marriage in America.                  I believe that if the Country is going to be true to its Constitution, and to the people it serves, homosexual marriage should be recognized by the state.                                        Even though I believe that it is sinful to have a sexual/romantic relationship with someone of the same gender.

I am lazy.                                                                                                                            Sometimes I worry that I’m not going to amount to anything because of my laziness.  I’m afraid it will cripple me in the future, and that I won’t be successful.

I question everything.                                                                                                                 Even the validity of some things in the Bible sometimes.                                                      But I believe that God can stand up to the toughest of questions, and that if the Bible is the word of God, then it will too.

I worry that I’m missing the heart of Jesus,                                                                             And that as long as I am in the land of the wealthy and obese, I can’t serve the oppressed in the manner that he intended.                                                                                                       I want to bear good fruit.

I hate most Christian music.                                                                                                             I really want something that I can connect to on a spiritual level, as well as something I can appreciate musically.                                                                                                                   I feel like most Christian music sacrifices Musicality for the Spirituality, but I want both.

I get worried that I’ll be a bad husband to my wife in the future, and I don’t want that.     So I try extra hard to control my emotions when I’m upset with Michelle.                            I like her.

There have been four or five times when I’ve been out shopping alone that I’ve felt God pushing me to go help someone, or pray for them.                                                               Every time I haven’t done anything about it.

I used to write off all of Brett Dixon’s conspiracy rabble as him being crazy.                       But lately I’ve been more open to it.                                                                                              I don’t necessarily believe it, but I won’t write it off without learning more.

I really distrust another leader in my church.                                                                           She said some really damaging things to me once.                                                                      I haven’t really let that go.

I think that I am genuinely crazy.                                                                                               The things I care about, the way I process information, and see the world are all just crazy.                                                                                                                                             Even the writing of this message is crazy.

I am really arrogant.                                                                                                                      But it is a subtle arrogance I think.  By that I mean than I don’t parade myself in the streets, I silently pride myself on my intellect or wit.

I believe that you do not have to have all of the answers to know God.                                     I believe that Baptists, Catholics, Methodists, Evangelicals, and Orthodox Christians who love Jesus will go to Heaven, even the crazies.


Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

