Home > Uncategorized > Diving In

Diving In

I’m diving off the deep end with this post – diving in to the deep, murky waters of the whole “missional vs. attractional,” gospel-centric, how-should we-“do”-church debate…

I realize that I’m distinctly unqualified to be doing this – I don’t belong to any coalitions… I’m not capital R “Reformed” (just reform-ish in a couple of my beliefs)… I don’t use hair product – and I’m not sure I’m adding anything of substance to the discussion.

I also believe there are a LOT of pastors, ministry leaders, and just plain folks who feel and think like I do.

It just seems to me that at long last we have ended up at the place Schaeffer warned us about – spiritual navel gazing… How many blogs, conferences, coalitions, scholars, task forces, etc., etc., ad infinitum, ad nauseum, need to discuss this topic and for how long?  We do realize that this subject long ago became the purview of cloistered-mom’s basement-more interested in discussing the church than doing church types… don’t we?

It’s got to be more simple than we’re making it – it’s “preach the Good News and do good things.” Period.  Seriously.  Period.

How/why do we want to gum that up with panels and forums and online discernment ministries?  The reality is that the hurting and lost people we are supposed to be reaching with our “proclamation” couldn’t give a rip about “missional vs attractional” – those words are WAY insider jargon that sound like “blah, blah, freakin’ blah” to a hungry child or a single mom with no hope or a lonely old person.

At the risk of beating my own dead horse – shhh, he’s just pretending to be dead – Jesus said “Go and tell” AND “Come and see.”  Again, not overly complicated.

I really do get it that some ways ministry is being done these days are distasteful to some people – so here’s a 2 part solution that can really help those people:

  1. Don’t do ministry that way. Do it another way, the “true to the Bible way,” the “whatever”-centric way your theological circle-mates validate for you so you can feel good about yourself… Excel in the way you do it, and you’ll have more influence to effect the kind of changes you’re ranting about now.
  2. Ignore the gospel cupcakes. You’re already making fun of them… “discerning” them… writing 25,000 character blog posts about them… Isn’t that taking an enormous amount of your time away from “proclamation?”  The truth is, I’m not responsible for Pastor Rock Star’s motorcycle ride across the stage or his sermon series based on “The Hangover”… Do I feel sorry for some of the people he’s “attracting”? Sure – but they aren’t reading/watching/listening to my opinion… nor yours.

Paul said that in his day the gospel was being proclaimed by some folks in wrong ways and with wrong motives – and in the same breath he rejoiced that the gospel was being proclaimed regardless… Why, oh why can’t we do the same?

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Craig
    October 14, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Well said!!! I’ve been thinking the same lately. I have to believe that the great reformers spent many long hours debating and discerning their theological differences. But at the same time, it seems as though they spent even more time doing the ministry the way they beleived God called them to do.

    But yet, sometimes those of us who are “swimming” in the same pool as those who appear to be “treading water” need a “lifeguard” to just blow the wistle and tell us all to get out of the pool for a few minutes to rest and maybe move to another part of the pool. Thanks for making the splash.

    Time for me to get back to what I believe God has called me to do…without being overly concerned about what others are doing…and without wasting too much time blogging! 🙂

  2. Anya Ayres
    October 15, 2010 at 7:58 am

    This is awesome! I love it when you post on here!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

