Home > change, control, holy spirit > Good Blood

Good Blood

Buddy_Blood_Drop_color2I had blood drawn last week for routine testing, got the results back yesterday – and surprising everyone but me, I did great!  Everything checked out fine – sugar, sodium levels, kidney function, triglycerides, all good…  My LDL was a little above where “they” like to see it – but all the nurse practitioner said was, “Wow – I really can’t fuss at you or scold you – just try to cut back on fried foods.”

(In my defense, the test was done right after our county fair ended – so the fish fry and fried bread sticks might have skewed things a little… I’m just sayin’.)

Vic and I had an interesting conversation, one that I have been thinking about.  She asked me if I had been expecting a bad report,  for the doctor to orders some drastic diet and lifestyle changes.  At the time, I said “no,” but as I’ve thought about it, I think maybe I was – somewhere deep and sub-consciously – hoping the doctor would say, “Here’s what you have to do…”

See, I know I’m overweight and out of shape.  I have high blood pressure.  I have family history working against me.  I’m definitely not getting any younger.  So, even though the blood work came in good this time – if I don’t make some changes, I can expect health issues to dog me in the future.

And honestly, some third party forcing me to do what I need to do is what I probably need to see it through.

I see some parallels in the spiritual life – as long as we’re not experiencing a crisis, most of us just coast along, letting issues slide, not dealing with stuff that needs to be resolved… And maybe, secretly, hoping for something to force us to take action.

At church, we’ve been learning to walk in the Spirit – living every moment of every day totally dependent on the Holy Spirit to lead us to do what He wants us to do AND to empower us to do what we cannot do in our own strength…  We’ve learned to say, “Lord, I can’t – but You can!” and to make it our standard operating procedure to continually surrender to the Life of Christ in us to be lived through us.

What if, instead of waiting for something to force us to take action ourselves, the key turns out to be relying on God, through His Holy Spirit manifesting the Life of Christ in us, to do what He wants to do to us and through us?  And what if the best time to sharpen that skill is when the test comes back good – everything is “OK”?

Dear brothers and sisters, you have no obligation to do what your sinful nature urges you to do. For if you live by its dictates, you will die. But if through the power of the Spirit you put to death the deeds of your sinful nature, you will live.  Romans 8:12-13 (NLT)

Categories: change, control, holy spirit
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

