Skipping Stones 06.14.09

skipping-stonesThoughts bounce like tiny, flat pebbles across the pond in my head…

  • We had a nice day weather-wise – it’s going to get hot, y’all!  You can feel the temps starting to creep up.
  • We’ve had such strong attendance – I’m not even going to say the “S” words ( they rhyme with “bummer jump”).  Always good to have first time and returning guests.
  • Worship band did a good job, even with some schedule challenges they had to overcome.  I appreciate those guys and their dedication and hard work.  They are not performers – they are “lead worshippers” and for that we’re thankful!
  • I’m loving “One Prayer”!  We had a great start last week with Steven Furtick, and this week Francis Chan hit a homer with his message, “God is… Strength.” I’ve been excited about it for a couple of weeks – this truth that our God is supremely strong, and that His strength (not ours) should be reflected in what we do and how we do ministry – and it was great to see other people “get it” too.
  • Quote of the day for me was Francis Chan quoting J. Vernon McGee: “God created the universe, and He does things His way.  You may have a better way, but you don’t have a universe.”
  • We were excited and encouraged to see 9 people step forward to “officially” become members of Jubilee!
  • Bible Beach Club is just a week away!  We’re excited about this outreach to our community and the children.  Yes, “The Challenge” still stands: If we get 100 kids here on a single day, I will kiss a pig on Friday. Click HERE to register your child.
  • We’ll also be back at the 4-H Fair in July, passing out ice cold bottled water.  Watch for more details.
  • This week I’m re-reading an old favorite, Grace Walk by Steve McVey, as part of my preparation for an upcoming message series.  God used that book 15 years ago to drive me deeper into grace and to produce in me a commitment to preach and teach the grace message for as long as I have the privilege of being in ministry.  Grace Walk still resonates with me in a major way, and I’m enjoying the heck out of it.
  • Our “One Prayer” message this Father’s Day Sunday is Craig Groeschel  preaching, “God is… Father.”
  • Speaking of Father’s Day, you don’t want to miss our worship service!  We’ve got some special surprises in store for our dads that day.

That’s it for now.  Have a great day!

  1. Chris
    June 16, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    Thanks for posting – I really enjoy it.

  2. centralityofthegospel
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

