Home > church, conferences, excellence > Sticky Church Conference

Sticky Church Conference

sticky-churchI took a day trip Tuesday, along with Greg and Pam, to the Sticky Church Chicago area conference at Suncrest Christian Church in St. John, Indiana.  I will post summaries of the main sessions, but here are some thoughts and impressions:

  • I had my first “Tweet-Up” – meeting face to face with folks I follow on Twitter!  Got to meet Mary Beth Stockdale, director of connections at Suncrest, Dave Ferguson, lead pastor of Community Christian Church in Napierville, IL, and Todd Rhoades, of my favorite blog in the ‘sphere, Monday Morning Insight.
  • Suncrest volunteers and staff were AMAZING – they definitely hit the grandslam hosting this event.  And they served GREAT coffee!
  • The North Coast Training Network is a sharp group, very class act.  This conference was pretty much the best value for the time/money that I’ve been to the last several years.
  • I LOVED the fact that the presenters were not squirrelled away in some “green room” away from the “common rabble” who paid good money to be at the conference.  Every presenter was available for conversations and interaction.
  • I pulled a little joke on Dave Ferguson – and then he had me pull it on his brother, Jon.  That was way too much fun.
  • Scott Chapman needs to Twitter – I would follow him…
  • Chris Brown (the preacher, not the girlfriend beater) is whatever is beyond ADHD – but is also an amazing teacher.

The conference is already generating some good conversations and provided us with some great resources.

Categories: church, conferences, excellence
  1. Lieliesorry
    April 4, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    Great site – pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  2. marybethstockdale
    April 6, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    Scott – great fun being your first tweetup at the Sticky Church Conference! So glad you came to the conference and found it valuable. See you on twitter!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

