Home > devotion, endurance, flesh, Jesus, relationship > Friday Remix: Batteries not included…

Friday Remix: Batteries not included…

 

I have a fountain on my desk. It’s cheap and plastic, but it came with real rocks!  I call it my “stream of living water…” But there’s an unanticipated problem: the batteries wear out, and the “never-ending stream” stops flowing.  Of course the issue is the power source – double “A”batteries are only temporary, they get weaker and weaker, and eventually they die.

And the truth is, the same thing happens to me and my “stream of living water” if I’m only drawing from a fleshly, temporal power source. If I “feed the stream,” it will only last for a little while. If it’s fed by “Christ in me,” it will be an unending source of living, and life-giving, water.

Jesus said if we drink that water, we would never be thirsty again. Well, I still get thirsty, but it’s not Jesus’ fault. I let that well run dry when I disconnect from His power source and try to live in my own strength. How long will I just use the Bible for sermon material? How often will I have the crashing realization when I start to pray in a worship service that this is the first time I’ve prayed in days? How many times will I try to tell thirsty people where to find water, while speaking through a parched throat and cracked, dry lips?

The apostle Paul had the right idea, when he said in Ephesians 5:18 that we should put ourselves in the place where we can continuously be filled with the Holy Spirit. My prayer today is to be constantly full of the Holy Spirit, and for my flesh to die to the point where I can say with Paul, “I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.”

  1. Pam Seabolt
    February 7, 2009 at 8:22 am

    It never fails to amaze me that something you posts often follows along with what we’re studying in women’s group, or just what we’re talking about when we get together in a group. Thanks for the blessing today!

  2. Saung Lady
    February 15, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    How true! I feel this is exactly the reason God told us “not to forsake the assemblying of ourselves together.” It’s too easy to get so caught up in day to day living that before we realize it, we’ve neglected to spend that quiet time and stidy time in the Word. I get so frustrated with Christians who used to go to church but think they can live their Christian lives just fine on their own, without that regular fellowship; because if you don’t put a piority on putting God first when it’s time to go to church, before long you won’t be putting a priority on personal time either. Truth be known, the personal time most likely went out the window to begin with, or was never there at all.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

