Skipping Stones

skipping-stonesMusings for a Monday…

  • It’s good to be back after a two week blog break.  I read/heard/saw a lot of things I want to write about and pass along, so I hope to get and keep a head of steam for awhile.
  • Planning some changes for the blog – mostly cosmetic.  I just hope I don’t blow it up!
  • Really good day at Jubilee yesterday – good crowd, some new faces… Loved the low-key, acoustic worship, we’ve just got to get more VOLUME out of you, Jesi, because yeah, you ARE that good!
  • Kicked off the “Plan A” message series on evangelism…  Key take-home truth: Evangelism is a process – not an event – and God uses people in a variety of ways in that process.
  • Great (defined as AMAZING, FANTASTIC,  UNBELIEVABLE – but I don’t want to say it that way because those words are majorly overused on many “pastor blogs”… So I won’t.) start to our very first Financial Peace University class.  14 families taking the class.  No exaggeration: for the first time in my life I really have confidence that Vic and I can get a better grip on our finances…  Can’t wait for next week!
  • Got back in the gym today after a lengthy layoff due to: 1) The knee injury I wrote about HERE and 2) My character flaws of not liking to get up early and exercise.  I did the elliptical and the recumbent bike, and was not at all surprised to find that – even after losing almost 40 lbs since October – I am sadly out of shape.  I’ve got a long road ahead, but I’ve got to get healthy.
  • One of my “stretch goals” for the new year is to read 52 books – basically a book a week.  I got an early start over the weekend with Sticky Church by Larry Osborne – really enjoying it so far.
  • I have the high privilege to pastor a church that is changing the world from a cornfield!  My mind is going in 84 different directions at once – excited and a little overwhelmed at the possibilities of this year in the life of our church.  BUT… We’re going to focus on two things:  Systems and Leadership development!
  • Today’s “Crazy Idea” – I won’t be satisfied until every person in the church is using a computer!  Mac or PC, I don’t care –  just get one and AT LEAST learn to use email!  Seriously – not having one is like not having a phone or a car…  And all your excuses – too old to learn, it’s too complicated, too expensive – are BOGUS!  Here’s a deal: If you will get one, I will personally guarantee that we will get you the help you need to learn to use it – free of charge.  How can you beat a deal like that? 

That’s all for now.  Catch you later!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

