Home > Christmas, family > Wii Fits

Wii Fits

wiiMy oldest son, Ben, is my only child who reads the blog, so it should be safe to talk about this here…

The boys want a Wii for Christmas.  Vic and I decided to get them what they wanted as a family gift, and then scale back on their individual presents.  But we really had no idea how difficult it would be to get our hands on one… 

Ben and I travelled 26 miles each way to Walmart at midnight last Saturday and stood in line for over an hour – turned out they had 10 and guess who was #11 in line?  There were no visions of sugarplums dancing  in our heads on the ride home, but the caffeine from our Starbucks coffee gave us a nice warm glow…

Target?  “No Wiis until after Christmas…”  K-Mart, same story… Meijer?  “We won’t get a truck until Wednesday, and we have no idea how many, if any, Wiis would be on the truck…”  Best Buy?  “We’ll have 70 for sale when the doors open at 8 AM on Sunday morning, but you will probably need to be in line by 5…”  (Perhaps it was selfish, but I decided to go to church and preach instead…) Circuit City?  “You’re kidding, right?  Seriously, you know this store is going out of business?”

We were getting desperate.  Then HALELUJAH! I found one on lowestdeal.com that was “in stock” and “guaranteed Christmas delivery,” but, silly me, I procrastinated one more day looking for a better deal.  When I went back – lowestdeal.com had raised their prices by $20!  I bought one quick, and paid a premium to have it shipped.  That’s also my last purchase from low-life scum who would operate a business like that, exploiting  men like me who are desperate to be “SuperDad” on Christmas morning.

So, we are going to be white-knuckling it until the daggone thing gets here – and hoping we won’t have to resort to wrapping a picture… “Look kids, this is what you’re GONNA get, one of these days.”

I swear, this better be the BEST video game experience of my life!  I’m talking Biblical proportions here… 

But hey, anything for the kids.

Categories: Christmas, family Tags: ,
  1. December 18, 2008 at 10:45 am

    These are pretty awesome we have had one for about 3 years know…enjoy! Superdad! 🙂

  2. December 18, 2008 at 11:46 am

    OD,

    You will love it. I used to laugh at people who were sore from playing the Wii, until I bowled 15 games and played 20 set’s of Tennis. I couldn’t move the next morning. Plus they say if you play it for 30 minutes every day you will loose on an average of 20 pounds a year, Bonus right?

    While my PS3 has much better graphics, as for a whole family experience, the Wii is just better. I hope it gets there on time.

  3. December 18, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    I sense a sermon illustration here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

