Home > Uncategorized > Who we’re here for…

Who we’re here for…

lonelyThe other day I was doing my “social network spy-dad” thing, looking at the profiles of my 3 oldest sons – checking out their friends lists and what their friends are saying and posting, that sort of thing.  I came across the profile of a young woman I recognized from a class I taught a couple of years ago.  My eyes widened as I read what she wrote below her profile pic:

If u don’t like me I don’t give a [f*bomb] if u don’t hate me I still don’t give a [f*bomb], but thanx for not hatin,

“Yikes!” I thought, “That’s pretty harsh for someone who hasn’t lived near long enough to be that PO’d…”  Then I started reading her “About me” comments in her personal information:

“I don’t know my dad.  I don’t live with my mom.  I live with my grandparents.  My mom walked out on me but I still love her more than anything.  My life is very miserable except when I’m with my friends…”

My eyes filled with tears, and deep within I heard the Lord say to me, “That’s who you’re here for.” 

Around the same time a Jubilee member was telling me about a conversation they had with a person who is not a member.  The non-member asked our person, “Do ‘person A’ and ‘person B’ go to your church?”  When our person said that they did, the non-member said, “Those aren’t the kind of people you want in your church…”

That person couldn’t have been more wrong.

Our church is here for the angry, the deserted, and the miserable.  For those who have been beaten on by life and other people.  For those who got the message from a thousand different places, “You’re no good… unacceptable… unworthy…”  For those with bad reputations and bad attitudes.  Because Jesus is their only hope.

My favorite book of all time other than the Bible is Jerry Cook‘s “Love, Acceptance, and Forgiveness.”  I have at least three copies within arms reach right now, and I read it at least twice a year…  His words ring in my spirit and shake me to my core:

The minimal guarantee we must make to people is that they will be loved – always, under every circumstance, with no exception.  The second guarantee is that they will be totally accepted, without reservation.  The third thing we must guarantee people is that no matter how miserably they fail or how blatantly they sin, unreserved forgiveness is theirs for the asking with no bitter taste left in anybody’s mouth.  If people are not guaranteed these three things, they will never allow us the marvelous privilege of bringing wholeness to them through the fellowship of the church.”

The first time I read those words nearly twenty years ago, I said, “That’s the kind of person and pastor I want to be, and the kind of church I want to be a part of.”  By God’s grace and the leading of the Holy Spirit, I am still committed to that – though I’m far from perfect in real life application – and I’m privileged to serve a church that is committed to it, too.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Saung Lady
    November 18, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    I guess I need some lessons in how to do the “social-network spy parent” thing. I have no clue how to do that unless they leave their my space page open on my computer after they have been on it!! I’m just grateful mine are all 18 or over now! This high teck age makes it hard to keep up with them. I don’t envy new parents one bit!

  2. November 19, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Hopefully in the coming weeks we can read about that hurt and hurting young girl finding healing. Great blog! I plan to stop by (and steal stuff) often! 😉

  3. Anya Wolfe
    November 19, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    Wow Pastor Scott! I am so glad that I have a pastor and a boss 🙂 that believes this, lives it and is leading our church this way! We are here to “bring up there, down here,” and that is for everyone. Especially for the broken, the messed up and the the screwed up. They are the ones that need the hope and love that we know, more than anyone else. Matthew 9:12 says it pretty clearly, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor.” It’s sad that some people cannot see that.

  4. BIG POPPA
    November 19, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    I’ll be the first to say thank you. Thank you for accepting a ‘ragamuffin’ and showing him, and his family, God’s mercy. Jubilee church people rock!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

