Home > change, conferences > Innovate ’08 Reflections

Innovate ’08 Reflections

September 24, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Guest blogger – Anya Wolfe, youth minister, Jubilee Fellowship

(If anyone else on our team who went to Innovate would like to guest blog, just let me know.)

The redhead was extremely blessed to have had the opportunity to experience two days of Innovate 08. I spent two days in a place where thousands of people have made it their mission to “bring up there, down here.”  I spent these two days with people from all over North America who are determined to change the world for good, and they are going to start in their corner.

There was a small group of people that attended the conference and happened to be from a little church in the middle of a couple of cornfields. Let me say this… If that little church didn’t want change, then they let the wrong 11 people get in a church van at 6:00 am on Thursday, September 18 and drive to Granger, IN.  We came away with more than we could have anticipated and we had a blast along the way! We laughed and cried, and cried from laughing too hard : ).  We were challenged, inspired and we were encouraged. Innovate 08 lasted a short two days, and yes it ended, but it started something else. I do believe that we have been “innovated.”

Good memories:
-Brother and the coffee stir stick he thought was a straw
-“She put her cold little hand down my pants!” This sounds bad, I know… but it really wasn’t
-Chris E and his big head
-Me and my insistence on ordering Kids Meals : )
-Pastor Scott and Josh at Famous Dave’s and the argument over toasted bread that led to a comment I will never forget!
-“Because you all are so much older than me!”
-The dream team that scared people
-Singing happy birthday to Billy Graham
-Countless stories that our speakers shared made us laugh
-Getting to talk to Steve Furtick and having Mark Beeson pray for our team

Categories: change, conferences Tags:
  1. Chris
    September 24, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    Anya! Well said!
    I can’t express how much I enjoyed reading your “guest blog”. You had me smiling from ear to ear.
    Thanks

  2. September 24, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    To Anya and the entire Jubilee Team,

    Great post. I count it an honor to call your Pastor my friend. Went to school with him when he had hair (mine was already gone). Been reading all the blogs about the conference with great interest. Very excited for you and your church.

    I just wanted to tell you that I can just sense the Holy Spirit’s creativity, innovation, and passion percolating in your Pastor. When we talk, he’s just busting with ideas, enthusiasm, and excitement. Besides having a sharp mind and being one of the most well read guys I’ve ever known, in my opinion Scott is one of the most creative guys on the planet. You are blessed to have him as your Pastor.

    His only draw back is his idolatrous obsession with an overrated football team from Alabama that my team was humbly willing to catapult into the national spotlight this year. Go Tigers!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

