Home > church, outreach, service, worship > Sunday Replay 09.14.08

Sunday Replay 09.14.08

September 15, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Every pastor who is away from their flock on a Sunday has a hope and a fear – The hope is that everything goes so well that they will not be missed.  The fear is that everything goes so well that they will not be missed…

I’ve heard nothing but good comments about Sunday!  Pastor Ed did a fantastic job bringing the word from the book of Jonah, and issuing a challenge to follow Jesus wholeheartedly.  I knew my friend was the right man to preach in my absence, and that was confirmed yesterday.  I can’t wait to hear the CD.

I had not taken a Sunday off from preaching in over a year.  Quite frankly, that’s not healthy – for me or for you!  I love to preach – it’s my gift and my calling, and I love preparing to preach, but I need time to recharge my batteries every now and then, and you need a pastor who’s not exhausted or running on fumes.  I have promised myself, my elders, and my wife that I will do better in the coming year – I’m committed to taking a handful of days out of the pulpit over the next year.

I also heard great things about worship – sounds like we had a great day all around.

I’m so excited about this week – 11 of us will go to Granger Community Church near South Bend for their Innovate 08 conference.  I plan to blog some from there – so be watching for that Thursday and Friday.

Next Sunday we will begin a new message series “Taking It to the Streets: Church Has Left the Building.”  We’re going to examine from the life and ministry of Jesus what it means to serve and minister outside the walls and in the community.  I think we will be challenged and stretched, and that’s just what we need.

Have a great week!

  1. Saung Lady
    September 15, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Yes, the service was great, and yes, you were missed!

  2. BIG POPPA
    September 17, 2008 at 10:16 am

    God’s timing is incredible! The message that the Holy Spirit gave to Ed was right on target, but what was pleasantly surprising was his transparency in delivering that message. God does love us!!!

    I’m glad you and the family had a great get away! You deserve it!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

