Home > Uncategorized > Sunday Replay 04.27.08

Sunday Replay 04.27.08

It's outta here!Our lovely Spring sucker-punched us!  But the cool temps eventually gave way to a pretty nice day.

In the house, we concluded our Homerun! message series.  Looking back at the Old Testament story of the Battle of Jericho, we saw that our extraordinary God uses very ordinary people to accomplish His amazing plans.  It was a strong “vision” message, one that challenged us to recognize that God can use us and He will use us more and more as we make ourselves available to Him.

Someone recently asked me if I was discouraged with our progress…  My immediate, heartfelt response was, “Absolutely not!”  I have never been more excited about our church and our future than I am right now.  I truly believe we will see walls fall down in our community because of our church’s ministry. 

Some of you might have thought I was crazy yesterday – I was casting some “scary” vision – but I really do believe we will see that Habitat house built by our people…  We will see incredible acts of service that will re-shape our community’s physical, emotional, and spiritual landscape…  We will see thousands of people who are far from God people come near to Him… Looking backward from the vantage point of Eternity, I believe we will see these days as pivotal to our transition to being a more externally focused, Kingdom purposed church.

There’s so much going on, I’ll just quickly mention:  Love and Respect marriage seminar… Bible Beach Club… Irresistible Evangelism on Wednesday nights… Worship Guitar class starts soon (and more music instruction will follow)… July 4th outreach… bottled water and popsicles at the County Fair…

To all those who work in volunteer ministry, I say “Thanks so much, we couldn’t do this without you!”  To those who are still thinking it over, or “sitting it out,” I say, in love, “Get off the bench and into the game!  You will be amazed at how much our extraordinary God can accomplish through you!”

Have a fantastic week!

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. April 28, 2008 at 10:24 am

    whoaaa!

    Just found you on Stuff Christians Like……Flora, IN!?!?!?! Never heard anyone say they were from Flora except my wife’s family…Porters and Seibers, much less find them on the world wide web.

    Cheers!

  2. fiercegrace
    April 28, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Hello and welcome! My family and I love our little town – the gateway to central Carroll County!!

  3. BIG POPPA
    April 28, 2008 at 11:27 am

    WOW! OUTSTANDING!!! COLD CHILLS!!!! The whole nine yards….my emotions ran the gamut. I have never in my life been in a church like this – that is ready to explode with such God given force!!!! It is an exciting time……..but if you play another song like you did Sunday my kids might think their dad has turned into a total blubbering wimp!!! (by the way I’ve already downloaded it onto my ipod!)Count me in 100%!! ROCK ON!!!

  4. fiercegrace
    April 28, 2008 at 11:40 am

    Thanks, Biggie! I’m seeing more and more people “get it” like you and others have. It gets the blood pumping!

    (BTW: The song referred to is “Goodbye Ordinary” by MercyMe. It’s awesome!)

  5. Jesi
    April 30, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    Amen to that! I love that song- and I listen to it every morning while i’m getting ready for school. Just to remind me that I’m saying good bye to ordinary and hello to living extravagantly… the way God intended it to be. =]

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

