Home > Uncategorized > Gone but not forgotten…

Gone but not forgotten…

tombstone.jpgtombstone.jpgtombstone.jpg

It was a quiet Tuesday morning.  I had been to workout at the Y, fixed some breakfast, and had just settled down to work on my notes for Bible Study.  Grayson, our three-year-old, wanted a drink of Daddy’s juice.  I urged him to use both hands and be very careful, “Daddy is working and we don’t want to spill the juice!”  He did great and set the juice down exactly where it had been before.

This is no exaggeration – ten seconds later I reached for the juice and knocked it over… directly onto the keyboard.  Are you familiar with the expression, “Make a preacher cuss…”?  Yeah, exactly.

We made a valiant effort to save her, John – my local computer guru – and I, but it was not to be.  She expired yesterday, about 2:08 PM, Eastern Standard Time.

It has been a rough couple of days – my kids don’t much like Dad using “their” computer, I can’t remember any of my passwords, etc.

Oh well, tomorrow, I’ll go shopping for a replacement and get with John to recover the data from the hard drive of the dear departed.  In a few days I’ll be back to what passes for normal around here…

In lieu of flowers or cards, the survivors ask that you back up your data.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , ,
  1. March 7, 2008 at 8:12 am

    http://www.apple.com/macbook/

    Education (homeschool) price starting at 999.00

  2. mayaritte
    March 7, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    A similar thing happened to my Mac a few years ago. It did not work. I took it to an Apple store and I found a conscientous customer rep. Young, eager to help. Before he committed her to “the line of no return” for probably months in the repair process, he looked at the back, opened it and showed me the stain that the coke had caused. He carefully cleaned the area with a lint free cloth, while he sported a very strange smile on his face… He put it back together after that simple cleaning and turned her on. A miracle happened. I heard the beautiful chime of my Mac turning ON!

    I send my thanks to this guy every time I use it, and that was in 2001!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

