Home > Uncategorized > For the sake of the Gospel (or “How I got a rope burn at church yesterday”)

For the sake of the Gospel (or “How I got a rope burn at church yesterday”)

seared fleshThe picture doesn’t do it justice… I’ve got some major league blistering and pain going on with my left hand.

I was doing a visual illustration of Psalm 127:1, “Unless the Lord builds a house, they labor in vain who build it…” talking about how we can spend a lot of effort and not get anywhere if God is not at work in what we’re doing.  I had enlisted the help of a fleet-footed 17-year-old boy; I tied a rope around his waist and he was supposed to run in place while I held the rope and made my point.

Without incriminating or embarrassing anyone, let’s just say this young man needs to work on his understanding of the phrase “run in place.”  He took off like he was shot out of a cannon, and the rope whizzed through my left hand.  The pain was so intense and immediate that I fully expected my hand to be in flames when I looked down at it.

The crowd, thinking this was all part of “the act” laughed uproariously, and I had to soldier on as if nothing had happened.  After the service, I showed some people what had actually happened – and boy, did they feel bad!  At least I hope they did… (And thank you to Candi – she brought me some great medicine, just like a good nurse should do for her pastor.)

Oh, did I mention that this took place during a children’s sermon? 

Hey, anything for the kids…

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Buck
    January 28, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Great post! You’ll still consider me a friend in spite of the fact that I chuckled out loud, right? 🙂

  2. January 29, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    Pastor,
    Dude you need to rehearse before the show. Ouch!

  3. Jesi
    February 3, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Hi Pastor Scott,
    I really like your blog… I made sure to subsribe. It’s nice to know what’s happening when we’re not able to be there. (Dad always attempts to tell us what’s going on, but he’s kind of A.D.D. haha) Soon though, Jonah and I will be able to come up as much as my Sunfire Convertible allows us to.

    Now about the whole *Rope-Burn* incident… I’m sure dad was one of the many that laughed out-loud. =] I hope the blisters are doing better.

    Can’t wait to see you guys again. God Bless!

    Love,
    -Jesi

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

