Home > breakfast, church, coffee, outreach, worship > Sunday Replay 1.13.08

Sunday Replay 1.13.08

When I was a kid, my home church used to sing a hymn that contained the line, “There is sunshine in my soul today!”  We definitely needed to draw on that “soul-sunshine” on a day that was dreary and wet outside.  In the house, however, it was nice and warm… 

The new worship combo led again, and did another great job.  Folks are appreciating what you guys are doing, so keep it up!  I hear that you’ll be adding a bass player this week.  I can’t wait for Sunday!

We began the second week of our “Life on Loan” church-wide experience.   I heard good reports from other small groups, and my group had a blast.  We “broke the ice” by asking, “Which actor or actress would play you in a movie based on your life?”  I still haven’t figured out why everyone burst out laughing when I said, “Tom Cruise or Brad Pitt…” would play me.  Now that I think about it, my feelings are a little bit hurt…

The message was, “Do You See What I See?”  based on the encounter Jesus had with Simon the Pharisee and the sinful woman who anointed His feet.  Jesus asked Simon, “Do you see this woman?”  He was really asking, “Can you see past her ‘stuff’?” – her issues and problems and the things you think disqualify her from the Kingdom.  We asked God to do some spiritual “lasik surgery” on us to help us see past people’s stuff, and see their needs, and to see how we could meet those needs.

Don’t forget that this Sunday is Breakfast at 9 – featuring breakfast casserole (and yes, I’m bringing the spicy, jalapeno filled kind.)  The coffee is always hot, the food is good… the only other thing needed is YOU, making connections with your brothers and sisters in Christ.  See you there?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

